Gifts in a Jar

Nothing says Christmas quite like homemade gifts in a mason jar, right? I’d love to blame my love for jars on Pinterest but I think my obsession predates Pinterest by at least a decade. I wanted to do something different this year for my coworkers instead of the jar cookies I made the last two years. But, I just couldn’t make up my mind on what to make. I ended up making three different things and letting people choose.

Roasted Garlic Butter

I found this idea over at whipperberry and it is fantastic stuff! This was the least expensive of the three gifts. It did take the most time but it was still super simple and had the house smelling awesome. The only thing I would note is that at first I tried to smash the butter and garlic together on my cutting board and that turned into a big mess. I scraped it off and tossed it into my mixer which worked MUCH better.

IMG_3901.JPG

Vanilla Chai Tea

There are recipes all over Pinterest for this stuff that are all very similar. I used this one specifically. This was the most expensive of the three gifts, especially if you don’t already have the spices on hand. Also, I had to throw out my first batch because I had a Pinterest fail moment and didn’t use instant tea. Oops! But, at that point, I was invested (and had an adorable helper!) so I decided to try again. I’m not a big tea drinker but everyone seems to like this stuff and it smells amazing. One coworker joked that she wasn’t even going to drink it, just leave it at her desk with the lid off and use it as potpourri. Lol.

IMG_3902.JPG

Exfoliating Sugar Hand Scrub

I don’t remember where I got this idea in the first place or I would include the link. But the stuff is so simple it’s almost embarrassing: mix Dawn hand renewal dish soap a little at a time into sugar until you have a thick paste. That’s it. The hand renewal soap keeps the soap from being drying vs using regular dish soap. It seems like a girly gift on the surface. But, the dish soap cuts grease and the sugar really scrubs. It is perfect for cleaning up after working in the yard or other messy tasks. This is certainly the simplest of the three gifts, and may actually be even cheaper than the garlic butter (I didn’t calculate exact costs). You can literally whip this up in about 90 seconds and it looks, smells, and feels great. Just don’t post it on the Internet like I am how little effort it actually required and your coworkers, neighbors, kids school teachers, etc. will be none the wiser!

IMG_3900.JPG

That’s it. A can of chipboard tags from Target, some twine, and I’ve got 23 coworker gifts in about 2 hours and for under $50 (not including the cost of the spices in the tea, those set me back about $30 but now my pantry is fully stocked.)

IMG_3903.JPG

Let me know if you give these a try. And leave a comment with your favorite quick and easy homemade gifts. Bonus points if they are in a jar! 🎅

Leave a Reply

