What’s in a name?

I may have gotten the cart ahead of the horse a little when I started this blog without a title.  On creation day I called it “A Working Mom’s Blog” but never had the intention of keeping that.  It was just a place holder.  But, it was a place holder that didn’t really express what I want this blog to be about.

Last week I read a blog post praising stay-at-home moms and their role within their homes.  The author then went on to say that all women should stay home and raise their children and that parents who outsource this care are contributing to the downfall of society.  Obviously, I found the second part ludicrous and highly offensive!  I’m not going to get into the debate about who has it easier/harder/better/worse.  We all have different challenges but none are better/worse than others.  Just different.  In engineering, we tell contractors what we want built, not how to build it.  I think parenting is kinda the same.  We all have basically the same end goals:  happy, healthy kids while maintaining our own sanity.  How you get there is up to you and I won’t be judging you for the path you choose.  That’s my two cents on that.

But, the whole debate got me thinking about my own blog… I didn’t want my haphazardly thrown down title to alienate anyone.  Yes, I’m a full time working mom.  I’m proud to be it and I feel like it was the best choice for our family for many reasons.  But, this blog isn’t really about that.  I got discouraged reading some of my favorite blogs because they often made me feel like there wasn’t time in my schedule to do the things that were being presented.  The “working mom” blogs I found were mostly just complaining about how busy they were. 

Yes, I’ll occasionally talk about “working mom” specific things (like a three week hunt for nap mats).  But, I hope that everyone can find something here they enjoy.  It’s not a blog about being a working mom per se, it’s just a blog about me and some of the things I enjoy.

Unfortunately, it’s also a blog without a name.  If you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them.  Otherwise, I’ll let you know when I think of something clever…

Leave a Reply

